top of page
Search
  • Becky

How about some good news?

Updated: Aug 17, 2020


Between tweets, shootings and news about people behaving really, really badly, I just don't want to know anything, anymore.

So let's talk about hope. I am a nonprofit professional. I'm motivated to shore up parts of society that need a little extra love. I wish we didn't NEED nonprofits, that society was set up to support everybody equitably, but that's another blog. I'm also motivated by my colleagues. Over the years, I've worked with some of the biggest-hearted, hardest-working professionals who are all driven by fire, equity, safety and justice. We are the Butterflies and Unicorns Brigade. Don't eff with us.

My friend Johanna is one of those people. Recently, Jo started up a new venture, selling women-made goods created in other countries. Trades of Hope empowers women out of poverty around the world while creating opportunities for American women by selling ethically produced fashion accessories and home decor.

And so I bought a kimono - at first to help Jo. But the cause intrigued me. When the garment arrived, I was delighted to see the craftsmanship and luxurious fibers. The hues of blue! What a treat.

I wore it at our Friday night gig. A woman stopped me outside the restaurant and complimented my outfit - specifically the kimono. I thanked her and gave a quick elevator speech about Trades of Hope, the artisans, the mission, and underscored how it was so well made. "I like your outfit even more, now!" She left with Trades of Hope in her head, but not without saying, "and it matches your eyes!" Want to see/know more? Click here

And so good works reverberate. Nonprofit professionals work to make the world a better places, and even during "off" hours, they get pulled into other missions. It's a community of giving, of helping, with gobs of talent, passion and hope.

When the tweets get you down, be assured the fixers keep quietly working, doing, changing the world -- sometimes through legislation, sometimes with fundraising events, sometimes selling one kimono at a time.

Trades of Hope, indeed.

* photo is not me. after two gigs in 18 hours, I feel like this model's great-grandmother *


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page